The Law Offices of Palumbo & Renaud
Menu

June 2015 Archives

Study shows how drunk driving penalties vary by state

New Jersey DUI laws are about average when compared to other states in the country, according to a recent study by the consumer financial website WalletHub. Researchers in the study analyzed the DUI enforcement rules in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to determine which states were the strictest and which were the most lenient on convicted drunk drivers.

Drunk driving penalties may increase if children involved

New Jersey may be strengthening its drunk driving laws when it comes to adults who drive under the influence with a child in the vehicle. At present, a person convicted of drunk driving may be jailed for up to six months if a child is a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense. Drunk driving is considered a disorderly persons offense.

New Jersey drivers and drunk driving technology innovations

New Jersey motorists may not be aware that drunk driving kills roughly 10,000 people each year in the United States. A recent event in the nation's capital that was attended by automakers and representatives from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration revealed new vehicle technology designed to prevent drunk driving. An alcohol detection system that was described as the first of its kind may help prevent drunk driving accidents across the country.

New Jersey man charged with DUI following hit-and-run crash

On May 31, a man was taken into police custody and charged with drunk driving following a two-vehicle collision in Lacey. According to local police, the 24-year-old man is facing a number of additional charges in connection with the incident, including assault by auto, driving while on the suspended list, reckless driving and resisting arrest by flight. Police say that bail in the case has been set at $25,000.