The Law Offices of Palumbo & Renaud
Menu

Felony DUI Archives

Woman charged with DWI after erratic driving

On Nov. 3, a woman was charged with DWI and possession of heroin on Oct. 14 after other drivers reported that she was driving in an erratic manner on a New Jersey interstate. The state police stated that authorities found her at a Flying J truck stop in the Carneys Point area off of Interstate 295.

Former bishop sentenced to prison for fatal DUI accident

New Jersey residents may be interested to learn that a former Episcopal bishop who pleaded guilty to manslaughter was sentenced to prison on Oct. 27. The woman struck a bicyclist in December 2014, killing him. She reportedly fled the scene directly following the accident and only returned when she was encouraged to do so by a friend. Authorities discovered that her blood alcohol levels were about three times the limit. As a result, she was facing 10 years in prison for manslaughter and for leaving the scene. She was ultimately sentenced to 20 years in prison but had 13 years suspended. She also resigned from her position within her church.

Man charged after deadly crash

Authorities say that a 29-year-old man faces multiple charges in connection with an accident that took place at 7 a.m. on Oct. 11. The crash took place near Old Bridge, New Jersey, near mile marker 122.3 of the Garden State Parkway. According to police, the man's Yukon sports utility vehicle overturned, which caused the death of a 28-year-old passenger in the vehicle.

New Jersey man receives 7-year sentence in drug-related crash

A 31-year-old man was sentenced to seven years in prison after a 2013 motor vehicle accident that killed an 80-year-old Brick woman. The Point Pleasant man was convicted for impaired driving before this vehicular homicide conviction. His previous conviction was for driving while under the influence of alcohol, and he had an ignition interlock device in his car, which prevents a vehicle from moving if a driver has consumed alcohol.

Felony DUI under New Jersey law

In most cases, those who are charged with a DUI are charged with a misdemeanor. However, it is possible that the charge could be elevated to a felony if certain criteria are met. For instance, those who have a blood alcohol content level significantly higher than .08 percent may be charged with a felony. Those who have been convicted of DUI in the past may also face harsher penalties for a new charge even if they have only been charged once in the past 10 years.

New Jersey driver faces DWI charge

A two-vehicle accident in Wall Township occurred on Nov. 22, and one driver faces charges for driving while intoxicated and assault by auto. A 47-year-old woman, who is from Atlantic Highlands, reportedly struck another vehicle with her car on Route 34 at about 8:34 p.m.

What is the difference between a first and second DWI?

In New Jersey, driving with a blood alcohol concentration level of .08 percent or higher is illegal. Drivers who do so are considered legally drunk and may face significant penalties if convicted. Moreover, drivers who have consumed alcohol sufficient enough to effectively impair their ability to operate a motor vehicle may be charged with driving while intoxicated, irrespective of their BAC level.

Lodi teacher charged with aggravated assault DWI in car accident

Authorities say that a Bergen County officer parked his patrol car to assist a fellow officer who was having problems with his radio on April 19. Shortly before 2:00 in the morning, authorities claim that a 36-year-old Lodi, New Jersey, man crashed into the Bergen County officer’s cruiser, which was “shortly stopped parallel” to the patrol vehicle that had radio issues, according to NJ.com.